25 leaders inducted into Susan M. Daniels Disability Mentoring Hall of Fame

Five inductees to the Disability Mentoring Hall of Fame standing together with their certificates

Austin, TX (October 1, 2015) – To celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act, the National Disability Mentoring Coalition has named 25 outstanding leaders as the first inductees into the Susan M. Daniels Disability Mentoring Hall of Fame. Selection criteria included the individual’s demonstrated commitment to mentoring and the impact of his/her contributions on improving the lives of people with disabilities.

Awardees were announced at the 2015 USBLN 18th Annual National Conference & Biz2Biz Expo on September 28, 2015. They are:

  1. Carl Augusto, American Foundation for the Blind
  2. Kirk Bauer, Disabled Sports USA
  3. Joyce Bender, Bender Consulting
  4. Marca Bristo, Access Living
  5. Jason Bryn, BAE Systems, Inc.
  6. Kelly Buckland, National Council on Independent Living
  7. Tony Coelho, Advocate
  8. Rebecca Cokley, National Council on Disability
  9. Dan Ellerman, Northrop Grumman
  10. Lex Frieden, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
  11. Judith Heumann, U.S. Department of State
  12. Andrew Imparato, Association of University Centers on Disability (AUCD)
  13. I. King Jordan, Advocate
  14. John Kemp, Viscardi Center
  15. Kathy Martinez, Wells Fargo
  16. Tatyana McFadden, Athlete and Author
  17. Oswald Mondejar, Partners Continuing Care, Inc.
  18. Alan Muir, Career Opportunities for Students with Disabilities (COSD)
  19. Ari Ne’eman, Autistic Self Advocacy Network
  20. Jason Olsen, Federal Employees with Disabilities (FEDS)
  21. Treva Roanhorse, Navajo Nation Office of Special Education and Rehabilitation Services (OSERS) with the Department of Diné Education
  22. Harilyn Rousso, Disability Activist, Feminist, Writer, and Painter
  23. Katherine Seelman, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences, University of Pittsburgh
  24. Jennifer Sheehy, Office of Disability Employment Policy (ODEP), US Department of Labor
  25. Susan Sygall, Mobility International USA

Background information on the inductees is posted online at: www.disabilitymentors.org.

The founding sponsors for the Disability Mentoring Hall of Fame are the Mitsubishi Electric America Foundation (www.meaf.org) and PolicyWorks, Inc. (www.disabilitypoclicyworks.org).

About the National Disability Mentoring Coalition: The mission of the National Disability Mentoring Coalition (NDMC) is to increase the awareness, quality and impact of mentoring for individuals with disabilities across the nation. Member organizations share core values and align with the Coalition’s objectives to streamline communication, standardize and systematize data collection, reduce duplication of efforts, increase mentoring opportunities, and improve outcomes for youth and adults with disabilities. Members include: American Association of People with Disabilities, Association of University Centers on Disabilities, Broad Futures, Career Opportunities for Students with Disabilities, Christopher & Dana Reeve Foundation, D.C. Public Schools, Easter Seals, Institute for Educational Leadership, Keep the Music Playing, Massachusetts Commission for the Blind, MENTOR: The National Partnership, Mitsubishi Electric America Foundation, National Council on Independent Living, Partners for Youth with Disabilities, PolicyWorks, Inc., The Viscardi Center, and United States Business Leadership Network. Learn more about the NDMC and its Members at: www.disabilitymentors.org.

Comment (1)

  1. We ALL Need Mentors! | Disability.Blog
    8 years ago

    […] the work we have done with the Corporation for National and Community Services, the experience of Partners for Youth with Disabilities and so many leaders in the movement to close the support and opportunity gap for all young […]

Leave a Comment